Skip to main content

Library - Visual Resources Collection Guide: Circulation Policy

A guide to the services and resources of NSCAD's Visual Resources Collection.

VRC Circulation Policy

NSCAD VISUAL RESOURCES COLLECTION

CIRCULATION POLICY (Updated 31 August 2016)

The Visual Resources Collection (VRC) was formed over thirty years ago to support teaching, learning and research at NSCAD.  Our resources include a media collection of over 2000 feature films, documentaries and artists' videos, and a special collection of 16mm films. The Library's special collections of rare books and artists' books, exhibition catalogues and archives are located in the VRC. The VRC’s collection also includes a selection of music, experimental sound works, spoken word, and lectures.

Faculty, staff and students of NSCAD can borrow materials from the VRC. Faculty and students from Novanet-member universities and colleges may also borrow materials, with NSCAD community members given priority. A valid identification card must be presented by anyone wishing to borrow VRC materials.

Borrowing priority is always given to NSCAD faculty, and items may be recalled early if a faculty member requires them for teaching. 

 

Videos / DVDs

DVDs and videotapes may be borrowed for 48 hours.  A limit of 3 titles may be borrowed at one time. Items on reserve may have shorter borrowing periods.

 

Audio Materials

Audio materials may be borrowed for 5 days.  Up to 5 audio items may be borrowed at once.

 

16mm Films

Up to 5 titles from the 16mm collection may be borrowed simultaneously.  The films must be returned within 5 days.

 

Reserves

Faculty and instructors may put materials on reserve for courses.  Instructors who wish to have materials placed on reserve should notify Janice Fralic-Brown ( jbrown@nscad.ca ) at least one week in advance. 

 

Requests

Videos/Audio:

Requests to purchase materials may be made by faculty and course instructors.  The VRC cannot guarantee that an item will be delivered when needed, so it is highly recommended that requestors ask for materials at least 1 month in advance.  Students are welcome to make recommendations, but acquiring course materials is of first priority.

 

Renewals

Loans can be renewed in person or by phone (902-494-8182).  Renewals are not permitted on overdue items. Items on reserve cannot be renewed.

 

Overdue Items

VRC material is used to support learning and instruction and therefore borrowed materials need to be returned promptly. You will be notified a maximum of three times that you have material overdue.

1st  notice:  item(s) are overdue and need to be returned right away

2nd notice:  VRC borrowing privileges are suspended until materials are returned

3rd notice:  replacement cost of the item(s) is charged

After hours, VRC materials can be returned to the front desk in the main library. 

 

Lost Materials

Borrowers are responsible for paying the replacement cost for lost items. Video and audio materials can vary widely in price.  Borrowing privileges are suspended until the lost item(s) is paid for.