Skip to main content

NSCAD GUIDES: BORROWING

This is a guide to the NSCAD Library. Included is information you will need to borrow books and other materials, how to manage your library account, how to find information for your research and studies, and more.

LIBRARY CARD

NSCAD Students, Staff, and Faculty
Your NSCAD identification card is your Library Card for the NSCAD Library and all other Novanet member libraries. You need to register at the NSCAD Library to receive a barcode for your card.


Other Novanet Institutions Students, Staff, and Faculty
Students, faculty and staff of other academic institutions in Nova Scotia can use their updated institution's ID card to borrow items from the NSCAD library. 

Members of the Public
Members of the public  have access to and, if they are 18 years of age or older, may also borrow from the collection. They may register to borrow with:
1) a NOVANET borrower's card provided by the NSCAD library (requires two pieces of official ID verifying age and  a local address); or 
2) their own public library borrower's card from any public library system within Nova Scotia (requires one piece of photo ID (verifying age) along with their public library borrower's card).

ID/Off Campus Borrower cards must be used for all loan and renewal transactions. Lost cards and changes of address should be reported immediately to the Circulation Desk.

CIRCULATING COLLECTION

Books, exhibition catalogues, and pamphlet files are available for three-week loan periods for all undergraduate students, staff, and public patrons and term loans (due dates of January 30th, May 30th, and September 30th) for faculty and graduate students of all Novanet institutions.

There is no limit on the number of items you can borrow. The due date is stamped in the back of the book, and you can always check your account on the library catalogue to see what items you have out and when they are due back to the library.

Circulating books are available on the 2nd floor of the library and are arranged on the shelves in call number order according to the Library of Congress classification system. 

Pamphlet files are available in the large filing cabinet in the side room on the 2nd floor and are filed by author or title (if no author is given). 

Exhibition catalogues are filed in cabinets in the Visual Resources Collection (VRC). Non-NSCAD borrowers should first come to the Main Library and ask for assistance if they wish to borrow from the exhibition catalogue collection. NSCAD students, staff, and faculty may usually check out these materials directly from the VRC. The catalogues may be returned to the main library.

REFERENCE COLLECTION

The main reference collection is found on the library's first floor for anyone to use within the library.

It includes theses, rare books, the Burke Collection, and the Soucy Collection.

Archives & Rare Books
All rare and archival material is for anyone to use within the library. To view rare books please call the Library at (902) 494-8229 to book an appointment; to view items in the Archives collection please visit the Visual Resources Collection or call (902) 444-7212.

Theses
MFA theses, Art Education theses, Design theses, and MFA graduation show thesis statements are shelved at the beginning of the reference collection on the first floor of the library. They  can  be used in library. 
The MFA graduation show thesis statements are in grey boxes, arranged by date and then alphabetically by the last name of the student.

David Burke European Art History Collection
This collection of rare books of mainly European Artists and Art History was kindly donated to the NSCAD library by Mr. David Burke in 2008.  Together they provide a detailed look into artists working in a variety of media  throughout the ages.  These materials are available for in-library use and are found on the main floor, shelved by artist last name or title.  These titles are not available in the Novanet catalogue at this time.
 

Donald Soucy Early Art Education Collection
The Donald Soucy Collection contains books, pamphlets, journals, and textbooks covering 19th and early 20th century materials for teaching art education. Primarily focused on education for the arts in the schools, this collection is a valuable resource for researchers in the history of art education in North America.

The Donald Soucy Collection is currently housed in the photocopying room on the first floor of the NSCAD Library. These items are non-circulating but appear in the Novanet catalogue.

 

RENEWING

After logging in to your library account on the Novanet catalogue, you can renew your books as long as they are not due that day or overdue, no-one else has placed a hold on them, and if your total fines are under $10.00. There is a maximum of three renewals per item. Use the barcode from the back of your ID card and your library password to access your library account from any page of the catalogue.
If you have any questions or problems, contact our circulation desk (902-494-8196) during our open hours for assistance. 

Library staff: Janice Fralic-Brown

Janice Fralic-Brown's picture
Janice Fralic-Brown
Contact:
NSCAD University Library
5163 Duke St.
Halifax, NS
B3J 3J6
902-494-8229
Subjects:Copyright, Library