Skip to main content

NSCAD GUIDES: Writing and Citing Sources

This is a guide to the NSCAD Library. Included is information you will need to borrow books and other materials, how to manage your library account, how to find information for your research and studies, and more.

REFWORKS

Refworks is an online tool that allows you to

  • Save an unlimited number of references, full-text, and other research materials
  • Import from online databases, catalogs, reference management tools, and your computer
  • Quickly save references and full-text from any web page.

Go to the Refworks site and register for an account using your NSCAD credentials ( your email account and password )

https://refworks.proquest.com/

Writing Resource Centre

The Writing Resource Centre is located in the Seeds Building, Room 404.  Click here to visit the website

To book an appointment, click this link:  NSCAD Writing Centre

 

 

Avoid Plagiarism

 

NSCAD University's Academic Integrity Policy includes these clarifications of plagiarism:

http://nscad.ca/site-nscad/media/nscad/AcademicIntegrity.pdf

"For the purposes of this policy, plagiarism includes, but is not limited to:

(i) copying verbatim the work or portions of the work of another without providing the source of the work. Sources of plagiarism include, but are not limited to, another’s words, phrases, recordings, images, and data. Plagiarized material may be drawn from many sources including, but not limited to, websites and other online sources, online term papers, books, articles, image libraries, email, lectures, or encyclopedias (including online encyclopedias): For further information please see the MLA Style Manual.

(ii) paraphrasing the work of another, or taking an original idea of another and presenting it as one's own work, without providing the source of the work or the idea:

i. submitting the work of another person as your own,

ii. writing papers or doing studio projects for other students or allowing them to submit your work as their own,

iii. fabricating information, data, or citations or falsifying documents."

 

 

 

 

 

 

Citation Style Guides

APA style

APA Style Guide
From the University of Alberta

APA Electronic Reference Formats

APA Style - Includes In Text Parenthetical Citations
From the University Wisconsin-Madison

Chicago/Turabian style

University of Chicago Style
From Douglas College, BC

The Chicago Manual of Style
From the University of Georgia Libraries.

Turabian Style
From Bridgewater State College in Massachusetts.

MLA style

MLA Documentation

MLA Citation Style

MLA Style: Documenting Sources from the World Wide Web