Skip to main content

NSCAD GUIDES: DATABASES - TERMS OF USE

This is a guide to the NSCAD Library. Included is information you will need to borrow books and other materials, how to manage your library account, how to find information for your research and studies, and more.

DATABASES - Permissions, Linking, Downloads

Quick Guide to Library Databases Terms of Use for Full Text Articles/Videos/Images

Database Can I link to articles, chapters, videos, or images? Can I make an electronic copy for use in an e-reserve system?   Can I make print or electronic copies for research/private study? Can I post a copy in a course management system? Class Use / Handouts ILL
Art and Architecture in Video  Yes,  on password protected course sites Yes 
 
  No   No; link only Yes Yes
ArtStor Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         Yes 
 
  Yes Yes Yes No
Berg Fashion Library Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   Yes No; link only Yes No
Ebrary Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   Yes No; link only Yes Yes
EBSCO Databases Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         Yes 
 
  Yes Yes Yes Yes
Intelex Past Masters Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         Yes 
 
  Yes Yes   Yes
JSTOR Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   Yes No; link only Yes Yes
Kanopy Streaming Video Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   No   No; link only No No
MyiLibrary No No    Yes No  No No
Oxford Art Online Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         Yes 
 
  Yes Yes Yes No
Proquest databases** Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   Yes No; link only Yes Yes
Taylor and Francis Yes, on password protected course sites                                                         No; link only   Yes No; link only Yes Yes
               
** Proquest databases include: Periodicals Archive Online, Proquest Research Library, Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail, 1844 - 2012, Vogue Archive, Women's Wear Daily Archive      
               
The information in the above table is based on the general terms and conditions of use documents found on the companies' websites. They are intended as guidelines and do not constitute legal advice. For greater surety, please consult the terms and conditions found in the service agreement/contract made between the company and this University.