Skip to main content

NSCAD Library: LIBRARY DURING CORONAVIRUS SHUTDOWN

The NSCAD Library is Atlantic Canada’s largest library dedicated to fine arts, craft, and design. It houses an extensive collection of print and media resources, online databases, and special collections to support learning in all subjects taught at NSCAD

NSCAD LIBRARY COVID-19 CHANGES

FAQs About the NSCAD Library During the Coronavirus Closure

March 18, 2020

Is the Library Open?

The Library is not open, as of March 18, 2020. NSCAD Campus access is limited to all but essential personnel effective 7:00 pm today. Library staff are moving towards working remotely to support as many requests and services that are possible during the closure.

Can I borrow items from the Library?

We are not able to provide access to the Library's collections during the closure.

Can I return my books?

You can no longer return your books or other borrowed items. Any overdue fines will be waived. Your loan period will be extended to May 30, 2020.

Will loans be extended?

Extended loans to May 30 2020 will be provided for all loans during this period of time except for:

  • Items that were originally loaned prior to this academic year
  • Items whose due dates are already May 30 or later

Items with loan terms measured in hours rather than days

How can I use the Library from home?

The Library has pages on our guide to help you access Library resources from home.

For information on accessing digital library content during the pandemic see this guide on Accessing Resources During the Coronavirus

For general information on using resources while off-campus, use the Off Campus Access page: Off Campus Access

Our databases page will help you get online access to full-text articles, ebooks, journals and streamed videos: Databases A-Z

You can still get access to ebooks and full text content through the Novanet Catalogue: Novanet

 

I am a faculty member and I have items on course reserve. What can I do to make those items available to my students?

For faculty who have course reserve items, we are working on providing them in alternate formats, and we can assist with making resources available through Brightspace if needed.

Can I still make Interlibrary Loans?

Requests for books cannot currently be filled. Requests for articles or book chapters may be submitted and will be filled depending upon availability. 

Who can I contact if I have a question or concern?

Please contact Rebecca Young, Director of Library services: ryoung@nscad.ca