Library - Visual Resources Collection Guide: Online Research Links

Using the Internet for Art and Design Research

This free tutorial from the Virtual Training Suite is designed to help university students develop their Internet research skills. It will teach you how to make discerning use of the Internet to find information for your coursework and assignments. It's a great place to start! 

Art Research (General):

• Getty Research Institute
• Oxford Art Online  (available on campus & off, via log-in)
• Wilson Art Full Text  (available on campus & off, via log-in)

Contemporary Art

• ArtBabble
• Artforum Index
• Contemporary Canadian Art Database
• Franklin Furnace Database

Design:

• Canadian Design Resource
• Design Council Archives (UK)
• Design Exchange (Canada)
• Design History Society

Images:   

• Art Images For College Teaching
• ARTstor  (requires log-in, available to NSCAD community)
• FADIS     (requires registration. Contact VRC staff for help)
• Flickr Commons 
• VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
• Wilson Art Museum Image Gallery  (Available on campus & off, via log-in)
• World Images
• Wisconsin Decorative Arts Database

Digital / New Media:

• ARS Electronica
• Database of Virtual Art
• Rhizome

Visual Art Research Links

• Art Images For College Teaching (AICT)
• ArtBabble
• ARTstor
• Audio Arts (Tate Britain)
• Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art Database
• Copyright Questions and Answers
• FADIS (Fine Art Digital Imaging System )
• Getty Research Institute
• Hermitage: The State Hermitage Museum
• Imaging the French Revolution
• Louvre Museum
• Metropolitan Museum Timeline Of Art History
• MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
• National Gallery of Canada
• NSCAD University Library
• Réunion des musées nationaux -- Over 440 000 photographs of works of art collected in the national and regional museums of France,
• Smithsonian Museums
• Tate Galleries (UK)
• The British Museum
• UbuWeb: archive of 20th century art documents
• V&A Images (Victoria & Albert Museum)
• Victoria & Albert Museum
• Virtual Museum of Canada
• Visual Arts Data Service (UK)
• VRA (Visual Resources Association)
• Wellcome Image Archive: Images from medicine and science

• Access Ceramics (contemporary ceramic art)
• AIGA Professional Design Association
• Canadian Crafts Federation
• Canadian Design Resource
• Design Council Archives (U Brighton, UK)
• Design Exchange (Canada)
• Design For Development
• Design History Society
• Nova Scotia Centre for Craft and Design
• Wisconsin Decorative Arts Database
• Library & Archives Canada: Fine and Decorative Arts Links

• ArtBabble
• Artforum Index
• Artnet.com
• Contemporary Canadian
• Art Database 
• Franklin Furnace Database 

Fashion Librarian Resources

List of fashion resources maintained by members of the Art Libraries Society of North America's Fashion, Textile & Costume Special Interest Group 

Style.com

Up to the minute fashion show photo and video documentation

• ArchiviaNet Canada: Photographs
• Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography
• George Eastman House
• Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
• Life Magazine Photo Archive
• Museum of Contemporary Photography (Chicago)
• National Media Museum (UK)

 ELECTRONIC ARTS INTERMIX

"Founded in 1971, Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. 

HASTAC

Humanities, Arts, Science & Technology Advanced Collaboratory

IMAP

Independent Media Arts Preservation

MAP: Media Art Platform

"The Media Art Platform (MAP) is a social networking website for media art professionals and enthusiasts: for artists, developers, technicians, curators, researchers, lecturers, students and for anyone who is generally interested in media art." 

RHIZOME

An organization dedicated to new media art research. Includes the Rhizome ArtBase, an online archive of new media-based artwork.

VICE Art Talk! 

ArtBabble

Art21