Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NSCAD Licensed Image Collections
The NSCAD Library subscribes to databases containing high quality image collections licensed for educational use. These databases are accessible through the Databases A-Z Page. To login off-campus or through your mobile device you will need to authenticate as a NSCAD user through the proxy server. To gain access you need to input your Webadvisor username and password.
ARTStor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Scholarly articles, eBooks and over 17,000 images on world dress and fashion.
Using Open Web Image Collections
Library, Archive, and Museum Digital Collections
The Artefacts Canada database, with the contribution of Canada's heritage institutions, contains more than 4 million object records and more than 1 million images from Canadian museums.
Art Gallery of Ontario - The Collection
The Art Gallery of Ontario allows online users to view and compare objects from the AGO collection.
The Digital Bodleian contains over 700,000 digital images from the Bodleian Library collections.
CCCA Canadian Art Database
The CCCA database contains over 62,000 images and media files, as well as text and project materials significant to research and teaching in Canadian Art.
Corning Museum of Glass
The Corning Museum of Glass digital collections provides a search tool to browse digital images of collection contents.
Europeana Art contains over one million artworks from European collections.
Getty Search Gateway
Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across multiple Getty repositories.
Glenbow Museum - Museum and Art Collection Database
This database contains a small selection from the Glenbow Museum art, community history, and other collections.
Google Arts and Culture
Google Arts and Culture is a publicly accessible digital collection of high resolution images provided by Google Art Project partner museums.
Library and Archives Canada Image Search
Library and Archives Canada Image Search provides access to digital images of archival materials located in Library and Archives Canada holdings.
The MET Digital Collection
The MET digital collection provides access to over 400,000 digital images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art collections.
MOMA Digital Collection
The MOMA Digital Collection provides access to digital images of over 77,000 works of contemporary art from the Museum of Modern Art collections.
MOMA Exhibition History
MOMA Exhibition History is a search tool providing access to digital images from exhibitions since the MOMA's founding in 1929.
National Gallery of Canada - Art Databases
The public art databases of the National Gallery of Canada provide access to digital images from the collection, and provenance research materials for paintings and sculptures created before 1945 and acquired by the gallery after 1933.
The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) is a digital portfolio containing over 140,000 images from visual arts collections.
Warburg Institute Iconographic Database
The Warburg Institute Iconographic Database contains digitized images from the Warburg Institute Photographic Collection.
Fashion Specific Collections
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Webadvisor username and password required to login.
Europeana Fashion contains the digitized fashion collections of over 30 European archives and museums.
The MET Costume Institute Digital Collection
The MET Costume Institute Digital Collection contains over 30,000 digital images from the Costume Institute collection.
Vintage Patterns Wikia
We are a collaborative Wikia dedicated to documenting Vintage Sewing Patterns (25 years old or older) that anyone can edit! Browse vintage dress patterns and completed vintage sewing projects, explore amusing illustrations and ogle classic movie stars. Search patterns available from our vintage pattern vendors or add your name to a wishlist.
Digital Art and Media Specific Collections
ArtBase is Rhizome's online public archive of digital art.
HAT Digital Archive
The HAT Archive preserves and disseminates the advertising history of the UK. The digital collections include television and radio commercials, ghost signs, and print advertising materials.
Moving Image Archive
The Internet Archive-Moving Image Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Internet Archive users.
Printmaking Specific Collections
Australian Prints + Printmaking
Australian Prints + Printmaking provides information on printed images from Australia and the Asia Pacific region.
French Print Collection
The Van Gogh Museum's collection of French prints from the fin de siècle (1890-1905). This collection, not often displayed in museum galleries is now publicly accessible online.
Transmaterial is a database dedicated to cataloguing the physical and digital materials used in the design and architecture of the physical environment.
Open Access Collections
Flickr Creative Commons
Flickr users have the option to offer their work under a Creative Commons license. This resource allows you to browse and search Flickr content by each type of creative commons license.
Image*After is a large, free collection of online images. You can download any image or texture and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.
The National Gallery of Art: NGA Images is a repository of digital images found in the National Gallery of Art (Washington DC). More than 51,000 digital, open access images are available free of charge for download and use.
Public Domain Review: Images
The focus of the Public Domain Review is on works which have fallen into the public domain. This resource provides access to curated image collections, but also digitized books, audio, and film.
Viintage provides access to thousands of public domain vintage graphics.
A collection of over 45,000,000 freely usable media files that anyone may contribute to and use.
Vimeo Creative Commons
Vimeo users have the option to offer their work under a Creative Commons license. This resource allows you to browse and search Vimeo content by each type of creative commons license.
Director, Library Services