Skip to main content

Library - Visual Resources Collection Guide: Writing and Citing Sources

A guide to the services and resources of NSCAD's Visual Resources Collection.

Writing Centre

The Writing Centre is located in the Seeds Building, Room S403. 

Avoid Plagiarism

NSCAD University's Academic Integrity Policy includes these clarifications of plagiarism:

"For the purposes of this policy, plagiarism includes, but is not limited to:

(i) copying verbatim the work or portions of the work of another without providing the source of the work. Sources of plagiarism include, but are not limited to, another’s words, phrases, recordings, images, and data. Plagiarized material may be drawn from many sources including, but not limited to, websites and other online sources, online term papers, books, articles, image libraries, email, lectures, or encyclopedias (including online encyclopedias): For further information please see the MLA Style Manual.

(ii) paraphrasing the work of another, or taking an original idea of another and presenting it as one's own work, without providing the source of the work or the idea:

i. submitting the work of another person as your own,

ii. writing papers or doing studio projects for other students or allowing them to submit your work as their own,

iii. fabricating information, data, or citations or falsifying documents."

 

Why Cite?

As an academic writer it is critical to cite your sources for many reasons including:

  • To acknowledge and give credit to scholars, artists, designers, or any individual or group for their ideas, knowledge, and work that you have referenced in your own research.
  • To show your reader you have done quality research by providing the sources of your information. Your sources will provide a lens and voice of authority to your arguments, and will illustrate to your instructors and readers that you know how to find quality information sources to support your research.
  • To provide your readers with information about your sources so they can access them for further study.
  • To show evidence of academic integrity, and to avoid plagiarism by correctly quoting the words and ideas of those you are referencing in your own research.

Citation Styles Commonly Used in Courses Taught at NSCAD

The three most common citation styles used in courses taught at NSCAD are APA, MLA, and Chicago. Below is a quick summary of the three styles.  If you need a formatting guide to assist you with creating citations and bibliographies in APA, Chicago, or MLA, try out the list of citation style guides on the right hand side of this webpage. If you are unsure of which citation style you should use for an assignment, ask your instructor. 

APA: The American Psychological Association (APA) style is often used in the social, behavioral, and biological sciences, and business. In-text citations and a reference list are required to correctly cite in the APA style. 

Chicago: The Chicago style of citation is used most often in the humanities and the arts. Chicago style can be used in two different ways, either with notes and bibliography, or author-date in-text citations.  If you are unsure of which way to format your citations for an assignment, ask your instructor. 

MLA: The Modern Languages Association (MLA) style is used in the humanities.  MLA style requires in-text citations and a list of references for correct formatting of citations.

APA Style Citation Guides

APA Style Guide
From Purdue University

Image Citations in APA
From Carleton University

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From the American Psychological Association

Chicago Style Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style
From Purdue University 

Image Citations in Chicago
From
Carleton University

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
From the University of Chicago

Chicago Manual of Style
From
Shippensburg University

MLA Style Citation Guides

MLA Citation Style
From Purdue University

Image Citations in MLA
From Carleton University

MLA Citation Style
From Concordia University

Primary Sources Citation Guide