Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Institutional Repository: Home
NSCAD's Institutional Repository enables and enhances access to the scholarly and creative outputs of NSCAD by presenting various digital archival and special collections material. The purpose of the repository is to create access to NSCAD's history, promote collections, and preservation efforts, past and present, to the NSCAD community and beyond.
Access NSCAD's Institutional Repository at https://nscad.cairnrepo.org
All content has been described according to MODS and Dublin Core metadata standards. The materials found in this repository are digital surrogates of special collections material, and archival fonds and collections housed in the Visual Resources Collection of the NSCAD Library, and the Anna Leonowens Gallery. Additionally, digitized theses of NSCAD graduates are deposited in this space as permissions are granted. This repository has been a multi-departmental effort to enhance awareness, access, and preservation to NSCAD’s history.
This repository is a part of the CAIRN network of repositories. It has been developed by the NSCAD Library beginning in the summer of 2016 because of a Young Canada Works grant to develop the repository. For any questions regarding the repository, please contact Lelland Reed, NSCAD Collections and Systems Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org
Anthony Mann Lecture Series - NSCAD 20th Century Design History Survey Class
This collection of twenty three audio cassettes documents the 20th Century Design History Survey Class taught by Mann in the fall of 1985 at NSCAD. The lectures were recorded by then NSCAD student Jay Rutherford on a Sony Walkman recorder. This collection of Mann's lectures is a series in a broader archival collection of NSCAD Design Cassette Tapes.
This collection of audio files are taken from a digitization project conducted in 2011. Many of the audio reels held in the VRC were selected for digitization based on their content. The reels hold content from performances, lectures and events held at NSCAD.
This is a partial collection and we will add more audio files in the future.
Elizabeth Styring Nutt Collection
The Elizabeth Styring Nutt Collection features four books that were authored by Nutt which focus on teaching art. In 1919, Arthur Lismer recommended Elizabeth Styring Nutt as his successor as the Principal of the Victoria School of Art and Design. Nutt accepted Lismer's offer and became the Principal of the Victoria School of Art, from 1919 to 1943. Nutt was the principal during the school's growth as it became a degree granting institution. Nutt also changed the name of the Victoria School of Art and Design to the Nova Scotia College of Art in 1925, and created a new motto: "Heart and Head and Hand".
NSCAD Feminist Collective Women's File fonds
Here you will find a small selection of approximately 380 digitized documents and records from the NSCAD Feminist Collective Women’s File fonds, including administrative documents, meeting minutes, publications, research on the NSCAD Feminist Collective, subject files, and the digitized finding aid. You will also find oral history interviews. The NSCAD Feminist Collective is a student group of the Student Union of NSCAD (SUNSCAD), and was founded in 1975 as the Women's Affairs Committee.
MFA Exhibition Images
This collection is a selection of photographs of MFA student exhibitions from 1975 to 1994. The images are pending artist approval and will be made publicly available once permission is given.
Mezzanine Gallery Collection
This collection contains digitized archival documents from the Mezzanine and Anna Leonowens Gallery from the 1960's through mid 1970's. Here you will find administrative records of the Mezzanine Gallery, artists' files, general exhibition flyers, interviews and articles, materials related to David Askevold's Projects Class (1969-1972), and materials related to the Halifax Conference (1969).
A collection of digitized Master of Art Education, Master of Design, and Master of Fine Art theses and artist statements from 1975 to present. Theses are added to this collection as permission is granted, pending author approval.
NSCAD Scrapbook Collection
The Scrapbook Collection features three digitized scrapbooks that contain historical local and national newspaper clippings and other memorabilia about the Victoria School of Art and the Nova Scotia College of Art from the 1920's through 1960's. The first scrapbook dates from 1921 to 1925, and contains various internal textual documents and newspaper clippings about the Victoria School of Art. The second scrapbook dates from 1927 to 1936, and contains various newspaper clippings and various memorabilia about the Nova Scotia College of Art. The third scrapbook dates from 1938 to 1964, and contains newspaper clippings about the Nova Scotia College of Art.
The Video Collection contains a variety of digitized video files. The collection features a variety of content, such as interviews of Lawrence Weiner and Robert Frank, a lecture of Joseph Beuys, performances from the centennial anniversary of NSCAD from 1987, and a number of videos from the Halifax Conference from 1970.
The videos were digitized from materials held in the Visual Resource Collections holdings.
New! NSCAD Open Research Archive + AV
The NSCAD Open Research Archive + AV (NORA AV) is a digital space for collecting, preserving, and disseminating audiovisual works and related documentation created by the NSCAD University community. Check out NORA Collections and read more about the project at https://nora.nscad.ca