Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSCAD Library Home Page

The NSCAD University Library manages the largest dedicated collection of visual arts, craft and design materials in Atlantic Canada.

Library Search

 

Advanced Search    Journals    Course Reserves    My Library Account

 

Advanced Search    Journals    My Library Account

Library and Visual Resources Collection Hours

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday  9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday & Sunday 12:00 noon - 8:00 pm


Visual Resources Collection (VRC)

3rd floor of the Fountain (Duke) Campus

By Appointment only
Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

To make an appointment, contact ryoung@nscad.ca

Campus Access and COVID-19: Masks Required

As of September 1, 2022:

Masks are required in the Library, all indoor classrooms, studios, and shops at all NSCAD campuses. Three (3)-ply or KN95 masks are recommended.

Please stay home if you are sick and only return to campus once you no longer have any symptoms.

For complete information regarding NSCAD's COVID Protocols, please visit:

Remote Access

As a NSCAD student, faculty, or staff member you have access to full-text journals, indexes, ebooks, streaming videos, and image materials that are available to you from anywhere. To access digital content, you will need to use your NSCAD username and password, the same combination as NSCAD self-serve. If you have forgotten your NSCAD password, use the NSCAD Password Manager to reset your password. 

Novanet Live Help

Live Help is an online chat-based reference service being provided by Novanet libraries. This service is designed to respond to brief questions that can be answered quickly and effectively using online resources.

Live Help Hours:

Summer Hours: Monday - Friday: 10am - 4pm

Closed Holidays

Contact Information

Circulation Desk
(902) 494-8196

Ainsley Cunningham
Supervisor of Circulation
email
(902) 494-8229

Detta Morrison-Phillips
Interlibrary Loans/Serials Technician
email
(902) 494-8255

Katie Puxley
Systems Librarian
email
(902) 494-8181

Rebecca Young
Director of Library Services (University Librarian)
email
(902) 444-7212

Location

About the Library

The NSCAD University Library manages the largest dedicated collection of visual arts, craft and design materials in Atlantic Canada. The collection supports the research and curriculum needs of the University, as well as providing basic resources in the visual arts. The Library offers over 50,000 books and periodicals, as well as a growing collection of digital resources and full-text databases.

The NSCAD Visual Resources Collection houses an array of unique collections within our overall holdings. These collections include rare books, artists' books, printed matter, exhibition catalogues, and archival records. The identified archival collections of NSCAD University include documentation of the institution's central role in contemporary art in Nova Scotia, as well as a unique collection of rare books and artists’ books that reflect the history of teaching at NSCAD. The Library and all of its collections are housed in NSCAD's Fountain Campus, at the corner of Duke and Hollis Streets in downtown Halifax.

If you missed our virtual orientation, you can review the slides as a PDF below!