Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSCAD Library Home Page

The NSCAD University Library manages the largest dedicated collection of visual arts, craft and design materials in Atlantic Canada.

NSCAD Library Top-Pick Databases

Below is a list of top-pick NSCAD databases that will be helpful for finding resources to support your coursework. For more NSCAD Databases and online journals see our Databases A-Z page.

Full-text Periodicals Top Picks

Art and Architecture Source

This database covers a broad range of related subjects including fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. NSCAD's Arts and Sciences JSTOR collections focus on art, art history, culture and communication.

ProQuest Research Library

This general database gives access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers, many updated daily and containing full-text articles from 1986 onward.

EBooks Top Picks

EBooks Academic Collection

This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects from leading publishes and university presses. Unlimited Access to 201,500 E-Books Across Many Subjects: Business and economics, Humanities, Education, Social Science, Philosophy, Technology and engineering. This database is being made available to libraries during the COVID-19 pandemic by EBSCO.

ProQuest EBooks Central

EBooks Central contains thousands of ebooks to support your research. ProQuest has opened up additional titles due to the COVID-19 situation.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides scholarly articles, textbooks, EBooks and over 17,000 images on world dress and fashion. Fashion Photography Archive: 750,000 images, supported by hundreds of articles, designer biographies, audio and video.

Images Top Picks

Artstor

ARTStor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. To use the presentation, download, or group functions sign in with your Artstor account. If you do not have an Artstor account, you can register once in the site with your NSCAD email.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

Bloomsbury Fashion Central provides scholarly articles, textbooks, EBooks and over 17,000 images on world dress and fashion. Fashion Photography Archive: 750,000 images, supported by hundreds of articles, designer biographies, audio and video.

Video Top Picks

NFB Campus (National Film Board)

NFB Campus gives instructors and students access to over 3,600 NFB titles and an extensive bank of teaching tools. **Please note you need to sign in or create an NFB account with your NSCAD email once in the site**

Kanopy

An online video streaming service that provides access to titles on a subscription basis for educational use.

Talk to a Library Staff Member

Have questions? Need reference or research help?

Make a virtual or in person reference appointment with NSCAD Library staff members by emailing Rebecca Young, Director of Library Services at ryourg@nscad.ca

Other Helpful Guides