Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSCAD Library Home Page

The NSCAD University Library manages the largest dedicated collection of visual arts, craft and design materials in Atlantic Canada.

Archives & Special Collections

Donations - Not Currently Accepting

The NSCAD Library is not currently accepting donations of books and other materials.

We are in the midst of reducing our collections’ footprint to adapt to having less space on site, and are revising our donations policy.

Library Collection Policies

Please note the library is currently not accepting donations of books or other items. If you wish to donate to support the library, please go to https://nscad.ca/give/donate/

Circulating Collection

Books, exhibition catalogues, and pamphlet files are available for three-week loan periods for all undergraduate students, staff, and public patrons and term loans (due dates of January 30, May 30, and September 30) for faculty and graduate students of all Novanet institutions.

There is no limit on the number of items you can borrow. The due date is stamped in the back of the book, and you can always check your account on the library catalogue to see what items you have out and when they are due back to the library.

Circulating books are available on the 2nd floor of the library and are arranged on the shelves in call number order according to the Library of Congress classification system.

Pamphlet files are available in the large filing cabinet in the side room on the 2nd floor and are filed by author or title (if no author is given).

Exhibition catalogues are located in the Visual Resources Collection (VRC). Non-NSCAD borrowers should first come to the Main Library and ask for assistance if they wish to borrow from the exhibition catalogue collection. NSCAD students, staff, and faculty may usually check out these materials directly from the VRC.